Uplift – Chicago Pop-up

Class Name: Uplifting – Strength

Teacher: Annie Hauser

Address: 735 N Lasalle

Sweaty Reviews Fitness Level: All Levels

Would I recommend?:  Yes

Website: http://www.upliftstudios.com/

Reviewer: Lindsey

Studio/Workout Review: Uplift is a “pop up” workout studio that recently opened in Gold Coast/River North area (They became popular as a women only boutique studio in NYC).The studio is definitely nothing fancy, just hard wood floors, a mirrored wall, and some weights. I believe they also have showers, but it was still under construction when I tried my first class.

The  class was made up of mostly tabatas (20-30 seconds of high intensity training followed by a short rest period). You do get a total body workout (arms, abs, legs, etc) – a great perk was that we never repeated the same move twice! The teacher was motivating enough to get me through the class, but by no means did I leave the studio drenched in sweat. Note: Don’t expect heavy weights (I believe the highest I saw were 12lbs).  This is a great studio for a newbie, a “lady” looking to get a good weights session in, or for all those out there who prefer all women classes. Don’t come here looking to be pushed outside of your comfort zone if you are already in shape and looking for a challenge.

Extras: Get the first two classes for the price of one!