One Studio, One Community


Hi all, I’m back!

I’ve been thinking about writing this post for awhile, but I took a hiatus from blogging. For awhile I thought no one would be interested in my site anymore because for the past year I have belonged to one gym, Studio 3, so I don’t have much variety to share anymore.

I used to run around the city (literally) trying every class and every teacher and telling all you readers about them (and I know you read and followed along!), but to be honest it got exhausting and time consuming. While I still dabble in Shred415, Lagree, and a few others, on most days you can find me at the corner of Clark and Erie.

So I stopped blogging….

Then it dawned on me the other day, I have gotten upwards of 20 of my friends to become members of ‘my’ gym (or at the very least purchase a class package). You could call me a ‘Studio 3 brand ambassador’, but all I did was show some of my friends what it is like to be part of ‘my’ community and they loved it as much as me!

This post isn’t about belonging to Studio 3, this post is about finding a community that makes you feel strong and empowered, that makes you feel like you are part of a team, that makes you feel welcome. This is what keeps you wanting/needing to come back!

In addition to those key bolded/italicized words above, this post is about encouraging all of you to find a gym that is easy, convenient, and genuinely makes you excited to attend, instead of chasing the things you are looking for in 10+ locations.

I call it a ‘one stop shop’.

I personally need the following in a gym:

  • Class options (not just running, or yoga, or spin, but a mixture to challenge myself in different ways)
  • Classes from 5:45 am to 8pm, including many weekend options
  • Location, Location, Location – needs to be close and easy to get to
  • Unlimited. Period.
  • Showers, toiletries, towels, and a clean place to change and get ready
  • Lockers with locks
  • Friendly & challenging staff
  • A community (nothing better than not having to ‘check in’, the staff just see your face and know you’ve arrived)

You need to find what is right for you. Some people just need a treadmill and weights, some just need a bike or a yoga mat, and some just need the lakefront. Try them all and figure out what works for you, just like I did. The best part is, when you find your niche, you will meet  like minded people. I’ve met some pretty cool kids at my gym and I love seeing their faces a few times a week!

Working out shouldn’t be a chore or a hassle, it should be fun and a place you truly want to be. Find ‘your’ gym, find ‘your’ community, I promise it will make you want to continue to chase your fitness goals and you might even make some lifelong friends.

#SweatyReviews

One thought on “One Studio, One Community

Leave a Reply

